Inside United: Realtime

Exciting News & Updates from UCGIA

Victor Kubik Gives Ministerial Update

January 24, 2011

[Excerpts from a letter sent to the United Church of God ministry by Victor Kubik on January 21.]

Visit to Southern Africa

Bev Kubik on Sunday morning at the Heia Safari Ranch at Krugerdorp, South Africa. Note the pool sign!

I have been in South Africa, Malawi and Zambia, where I have been speaking to ministers and members concerning the current events in the Church. While we are disheartened that many elders in this region have decided to leave the United Church of God, many members want a pastor and wish to remain with us, and so we are committed to providing that support.

I have spent many hours in Malawi talking with the leadership and members there. While the elder in Malawi has resigned, the brethren do not want another church organization. They want what they have seen and known in the United Church of God. The vast majority will stay together in UCG.

My answers here have been to give first-hand testimony to the issues and concerns. Questions come mostly from the Internet and from distorted conflicting reports, often second- and third-hand.

Work at the Home Office

During some of the time of my visit to Africa, Roy Holladay came to the home office to shore up our work in Ministerial and Member Services (MMS). I want to thank both him and Gary Antion for working very hard and making so many phone calls late into the night to effectively serve our ministry and brethren. We’ve all been very encouraged by the e-mails, text messages and phone calls from you that lift our spirits and help us go on.

On Wednesday evening we held a Council of Elders teleconference during which we discussed many manpower changes. I have appreciated the team effort of the administration working with the Council to fill vacancies by relocating ministers, hiring needed pastors and realigning some of the church circuits. Again, we thank all our elders who have stepped up to volunteer and make certain that our brethren have access to a minister.

Youth Camps and Feast of Tabernacles

We are on top of our United Youth Camps program. Steve Nutzman will be national coordinator and we are working to staff all our camp venues. Announcements to the church about youth summer camps will start coming in February.

We are also planning for the Feast of Tabernacles. Yesterday, we held a teleconference to plan domestic Festival locations and to suggest some new coordinators. Roy Holladay, who is responsible from MMS to oversee our festivals, will hold meetings to talk about some of this year’s challenges.

Ministerial Conference

We are all looking forward to the special conference to be held in Cincinnati in a little over a week. We feel it’s very important to assemble to discuss how we’re going to move on in fulfilling our ministry. One key feature of the conference will be to form breakout groups for the three U.S. regions and the international area to discuss staffing and care of areas that have had shortages. We really appreciate the initiative and cooperation of our elders to work in ensuring the needs of our members are met.

Bad Fall

After UCG services in Pretoria, South Africa, socializing at the home of Jason and Monique Webster.

From the time I started writing this newsletter to now, I have gone through a personal trauma with an accident in Zambia on January14. As I was leaving the hotel for the airport for my flight to Johannesburg, South Africa, I slipped on wet tile and fell backwards hard onto a bench in my room. At the time I didn’t know it, but I broke two ribs. I went ahead to the airport and flew to South Africa, but when I arrived there, I asked to go to a hospital. That’s where I found out about the broken ribs.

By the next day, one lung began filling with fluid and partially collapsed. I was placed into Intensive Care for four days. It has been an ordeal, but I’m getting through it. I have had to delay my return back to the United States for ten days because of the damage to my lung. I asked my dear wife Bev to fly here and she is helping me with my recuperation. I have more details about this on my prayer page at http://kubik.org/prayer/kubik.htm. Thank you so much for your prayers.

We will keep information flowing to you.

In Christ’s service,

Victor Kubik—Operation Manager, Ministerial and Member Services

January 24, 2011 - Posted by | Council of Elders, Home Office, Ministerial Services |

10 Comments »

  1. Am so glad you are doing better and that you are able to keep us up to date on current events. Just want you to know that I really enjoyed the time I spend with you in the Feast in Estonia and the appreciate all the assistance you give to people through Lifenets. Hope to see you again someday. Ron

    Comment by Ron Wroblewski | January 24, 2011 | Reply

  2. I wonder, why does one need to leave the pool area when Zebra’s drink?

    Comment by Kathleen Hansen | January 24, 2011 | Reply

  3. get well soonest with the heavy work you are doing, we are praying for you.

    Comment by dave | January 24, 2011 | Reply

  4. I’m thinking Kathleen, that lions might not be far behind? I am happy to hear that you are on the mend Mr. Kubic and your precious wife is able to be by your side.

    Comment by Laura Roberts | January 24, 2011 | Reply

  5. We sure were shocked to hear about your fall and the broken bones and all.
    So glad that God is keeping you in his care!!
    Prayers are being sent to God in your behalf.
    You and your wife work so hard, and whatta way to ”take a break”… get it? (just joking with you).
    We love you and your wife Bev! Hope you are feeling back to normal again and soon.
    Be safe.
    Helen Braman

    Comment by Helen Braman | January 25, 2011 | Reply

  6. Hello to Victor & Beverly: I wanted to say how grateful I am to know you both and all that you both do for so many people all around the world. I pray that God will bless you both for all that you do and that He will take care of you both as you serve His people around the world! We love you both very much – See you in a few days, Fern & Dan

    Comment by Fern Berendt | January 25, 2011 | Reply

  7. David and I are praying for your safe journey home.

    Comment by Kim Nunn | January 25, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi Kim. It’s Ron Wroblewski from Illinois. Let’s get in contact again. Email is wrobo@sbcglobal.net.

      Comment by Ron Wroblewski | January 25, 2011 | Reply

  8. Hi Kim. So nice to hear from you and David. My email is wrobo@sbcglobal.net. Let me hear from you. Ron Wroblewski

    Comment by Ron Wroblewski | January 25, 2011 | Reply

  9. Hi Vic and Bev: You are in our prayers and thoughts. Thank you for your dedicated efforts to serve our God and Jesus Christ through your faithful pastoring, your travels to other countries, and the Life Nets work. We are so excited and rejoice to hear how Life Nets has supplied special equipment that has has made it possible to put Beyond Today out in Spanish, on South American tv recently. May God bring much fruit from this. With deep love in Christ,
    Gord and Lillie Robinson, Toronto UCG congregation

    Comment by Gord and Lillie Robinson | January 26, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

