Inside United: Realtime

Exciting News & Updates from UCGIA

Update: New Holladay Sermon

April 26, 2010

On Tuesday, April 20, the home office mailed a sermon DVD given by Roy Holladay titled “Strengths of United” to all UCG pastors. Ministerial Services operation manager Victor Kubik inserted a note and posted an e-mail to all pastors asking them to please play the sermon for their congregations as soon as practical.

Roy Holladay, April 10, Cincinnati

Many congregations played the sermon on the Sabbath of April 24. If the DVD does not arrive by the time you need to play it (especially in the international areas), the high quality version of the sermon can NOW be viewed here: http://cincinnati-east.ucg.org/sermon/strengths-united .

Peter Eddington, Media and Communications Services

April 26, 2010 - Posted by | Home Office, Ministerial Services, President's Office | ,

1 Comment »

  1. I was kinda confused by this sermon – I appreciate Mr. Holladay explaining what is important to the church, but focussing so much on United specifically made me kinda sad since I am very sensitive to making sure that when I say ‘The church’ I mean as a whole, not one specific group. Without a backstory and understanding more about what is going on, and I mean details that would probably be unpolite to share, the sermon said alot of nothing to me unfortunately. I sat semi-uncomfortable in the seat because we had some visitors to church, and I thought to myself, “well, I am glad they are here, but they must think that the church is in trouble or something.” I do not believe the church is in trouble, and our visitors were very nice and down to earth people and it didn’t seem to phase them. But don’t get me wrong, I understand probably better than most the reasons behind the changes in administration – and I am not worried about UCG as an org, differences in opinion happen, and everyone is stuck between a rock and hardplace – but things were carried out decently and in order, and I am glad for that.

    On a side note, I also thought it was amusing Mr. Holladay mentioned that the original elders in UCG made it a priority to have live ministers in areas ‘so that they did not have to watch videos’ … sometimes it’s ironic, right?

    Thanks, -Jason

    Comment by Jason Nitzberg | May 10, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

