Inside United: Realtime

Exciting News & Updates from UCGIA

New Short Film from UCG: Jelly Learns the 10 Commandments

July 26, 2012

View this new short film from the United Church of God and the producers of Beyond Today television: “Jelly Learns the 10 Commandments.”

The character in our story, Jelly, learns a valuable lesson about stealing. Teach your children the 10 Commandments through this fun sing-a-long.

Peter Eddington—Media and Communications Services

July 26, 2012 - Posted by | Beyond Today, Media and Communications | , , , , , ,

24 Comments »

  1. wonderful! Awesome!

    Comment by Janet Treadway | July 26, 2012 | Reply

  2. That was great!! Thanks for the work you all do. :)

    Comment by itsmetrish001 | July 26, 2012 | Reply

  3. Hilarious! They should put that on “Sesame Street”!
    Basil

    Comment by Basil Kopey | July 27, 2012 | Reply

  4. This is such a positive learning tool for children. Thank you for giving your time and sharing your creative talents to help teach God’s Word. Hope we see more of Jelly !

    Comment by Debbie | July 27, 2012 | Reply

  5. I love it, catchy tune. Can’t wait to show this to my grandchildren.

    Comment by ms. mickey graham | July 27, 2012 | Reply

  6. I really don’t think this is the way Jesus would teach the Ten Commandments to children. I think it belittles God’s Word.

    Comment by Jeanne Ireland | July 27, 2012 | Reply

    • Jeanne, consider the songs in our “Bible hymnals.” Many of them (especially the Dwight Armstrong collection) are Psalms set to music. I’ve learned plenty of scriptures that way.

      Comment by Richard | July 29, 2012 | Reply

  7. Great job! I love that we’re reaching out to all ages.
    Michelle Rageth

    Comment by Michelle Rageth | July 27, 2012 | Reply

  8. Great job! Cute and funny! Yeah for Christian film, I hope to be a contributor
    some day!

    Comment by john vick | July 27, 2012 | Reply

  9. Nice and fun song. Good job. I have some of my own I composed for my kids during a time they had to know
    Bible memory. I put them down in my composition book and I work on the harmonies. I had someone helping but we are not with them any longer.

    Comment by K. | July 27, 2012 | Reply

  10. Can’t wait for my daughter Paris to see this today on the Sabbath….great timing. Anything that teaches the right way of life by obeying the 10 Commandments would get the tick of approval from God. He has such a great sense of humour and I just hope you can put more out there for the children ‘in the middle’ aged around 9 – 12 years who are not littlies or teenagers. Keep up the great ideas and work.

    Comment by Deanne Baum | July 27, 2012 | Reply

  11. Dear Brother and Sister,

    Blessing to you in the name of the Jesus Christ!

    I am Pastor Ranjith My church name canaan evangelical free Church. My Wife is Sister Desika. We have one daughter. I can’t you same English. we are like friend ship with you and your all. My house have eastern province in ampara, Srilanka. But I have no personal building for service. We are doing rent house. We are living in there. We need buy a house. But I know Jesus open the door for me. Please pray for us. I can do small buisnass, please can you help me start a buisinass. I can develop my Church. I am no request money. Can you give me only buisnass items for start a self-employed. We have a no kindly sponsor. So I think start employed. I need help donors. Please pray for us. My country is very nice. I invite you to teach the bible and children programe for my church. Please pray about it. Who can like sponsor my services,please tell this about them. I hope your mail and call. We are pray for you and your all. God Bless You!

    In Christ

    Pastor Ranjith

    CANAAN EVANGELICAL FREE CHURCH
    200/91, NAWGMPURA,
    AMPARA, SRI LANKA

    canaanchurch@sltnet.lk

    0094 77431 4949
    0094 71150 1750

    Please pray for us.

    Comment by Pastor Ranjith Mallawarachchi | July 27, 2012 | Reply

  12. A great start for the day with God’s Spiritual Law of Love. The film speaks to me directly as an adult seeking the Way of the Lord. My children will definitely enjoy this. May God continue to grant you favour in His work!
    B.Dudi

    Comment by Benard Dudi | July 28, 2012 | Reply

  13. I appreciate all of Jonathan Magee’s short videos. They are hep, happening and contemporary.

    Your Friend,
    Bill Luesenheide

    Comment by Bill Luesenheide | July 28, 2012 | Reply

    • Very cute and positive way of putting God’s commandments into perspective, even for adults! Thanks!

      Comment by Martha Escalante | July 28, 2012 | Reply

  14. Marvelous! Nice to see Jelly jammin’! :-)

    Comment by Richard | July 28, 2012 | Reply

  15. “What did you expect, hip hop?”

    Epic.

    Comment by Ben | July 29, 2012 | Reply

  16. Excellent

    Comment by Darwin Paul | August 2, 2012 | Reply

  17. The church’s resources should not be squandered on such projects. As Mr. Magee’s bio stated that his lifelong dream was to make comedy videos, perhaps he would be better suited to employment in Hollywood.

    Comment by NT | August 2, 2012 | Reply

    • “Squandered”? I think this is a very good use of the resources available. Children learn easily when information is set to song, and the earlier kids learn the Ten Commandments, the better. If we want the next generation to be part of God’s church, they need to learn why God’s way works better than the world’s way as early in life as possible. This teaches the basics of God’s way in a very memorable manner. I hope that more videos can be made for the young generation.

      Comment by Susan the Singer | August 4, 2012 | Reply

  18. Our youth are the future of the church. They need to know that God’s way can be fun, and applicable to their lives too; that His people can see humor as well as the serious side of life. Plus this creative production helps kids learn the 10 commandments. So I support it for both the young and the young-at-heart.

    Comment by Ailsa | August 3, 2012 | Reply

  19. The church is blessed to have servants who dedicate their time and talents and creativity that God gave them to share the joy of his law with our precious children. Thankfully Jonathan is not interested in the Hollywood scene and has chosen to use his talents in promoting Gods truth. I believe that God is well pleased when his children delight in his word! Great work, keep it up!

    Comment by steve | August 4, 2012 | Reply

  20. Paul says to talk to people in their language. “the Romans as you were a Roman and talk to the Greeks like a Greek”. The same with children, we talk to them in a language that is easiest for them to understand and retain meaningful knowledge. Children could get turned off and tune out, if it is above their head. This is what children’s minds will tune into. This is edifying and nothing unethical being taught here. For some this may be like sitting in a first grade classroom. If so, there are other means to eat more mature meat spiritually on the UCG site. Cost? It is probably one of the most cost effective ways to draw our children into the church.(Feeling connected with friends that love them, would probably be at the top as well.)

    Comment by Jeannette | August 21, 2012 | Reply

  21. I LOVE THIS TOO, THE TEN COMMANDMENTS! IN RHYME STYLE FOR ALL US KIDS.

    Comment by Tammy Walston Vaught | December 22, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,574 other followers

